RSS Feed

New Addition to the Cosplay Family

Posted on

I’m having another change of plans.  My Kotomi cosplay fell through since I couldn’t get the wig or make the dress due to shortage of funds.  I still want to cosplay her, but I can’t at the moment so I’m replacing her with Luka from Vocaloid.  Luka is one of my favorite vocaloids because I love her voice and graceful style.  I also think her pink hair is adorable. 

I’m planning to do a Just Be Friends version with a curly wig. 

Just be Friends - LukaxKaito

I found a long curly pink wig that I can afford and should arrive before the con.  I already have a white dress and black boots that I could use.  I have to add a lining or two to the dress, but otherwise it’s done.  I’m going for the version she wears in the balloon scene so I don’t have to get or make a wreath.  I’m hoping that one of my friends can come so he can cosplay Luka’s Ex since he looks a lot like him, but I don’t know if my friend can come or not yet.  If not that’s fine, but I really hope he can. 

I also want to wear a silver/gray and black formal to the high society formal the con is hosting.  As far as I can tell the dress would look great with the wig which would be perfect for the formal since it’s curly.  I might style it a bit, but I don’t really know yet.  I’ll know better if I’ll actually be cosplaying Luka for the formal once I get the wig.  I got the dress from a prom dress swap.  It’s really beautiful, and I like it a lot.  I have a couple pairs of black heels that I could wear with it since high heels are required for the event. 

There’s going to a good sized Vocaloid group at the con.  So far it looks like there will be a Len, Miku, Mikou, and maybe a few others.  I can’t remember the exact list unfortunately, but it’s a descent group for a small con.  I’m looking forward to meeting some if not all of the group.  Maybe there will even be a photoshoot which would be lots of fun. 

I’m both excited and nervous about cosplaying Luka.  I’m excited because I like the character for the most part, but I’m nervous since Luka is the sexy type and I am not.  Nevertheless, I like her Just Be Friends version which is sweet, simple, and not over sexualized like some of her other designs. I like the character, but I don’t like all her variations. 

Dresses I’m planning to use: Top and middle, Just Be Friends version dress and boots; bottom, formal version.  The formal has a very beautiful silver to grey gradient, but unfortunately the lighting washes it out in the picture.

IMG_0092

IMG_0754

IMG_0093

About narnianna

Narnianna is a costume and needle artist from the great northwest state of Idaho. She began needle arts in 2002, costuming in 2009, and attending conventions in 2010. Since then, she branched into many venues of costume recreation and design, such as historical, anime, video games, movie, television, and original design in both science fiction/fantasy and historical as well as many avenues of needle arts such as crocheting, knitting, embroidery, and beading. Each project is a work of love and has a unique story behind it. It is here she expounds those stories into tales and thoughts of her experiences in the crafts she loves.

Leave a Reply

