RSS Feed

Kimono Making Time

Posted on

After spending the better part of a week trying to find a good tutorial on kimono making, I started work on the kimono for Susukihotaru.  It took a couple tries to get the measurements right, especially for the sleeves, but all in all it wasn’t difficult to draft.  Fortunately, sewing wasn’t difficult either. I’m pleasantly surprised the ease of  kimono making, once you get the hang of it.  I easily could finish one in an afternoon, hems and all.

Hopefully I will finish Susukihotaru completely before the blossoms leave the trees.  I would love to get photos of her with lovely pink blooms since it would match the series so well.  If not I’ll settle for a June shoot.  The roses should be in bloom then which would also fit the series.

Regardless, I’m excited to cosplay her since she is a neat character.  If all goes well, I may have a Zakuro and Riken with which to pose!  Hopefully we can find the twins, Kei, and Ganryuu as well as the rest of the side characters.  It would be great to have the full cast!

I’ll post more with what happens next.  ^_^  I apologize for the lack of posts recently.  School and life have kept me super busy.  I don’t have as much time to blog as I did in high school, but I will post when I can.

Thank you all so much for reading.  It really means a lot.  ^_^

About narnianna

Narnianna is a costume and needle artist from the great northwest state of Idaho. She began needle arts in 2002, costuming in 2009, and attending conventions in 2010. Since then, she branched into many venues of costume recreation and design, such as historical, anime, video games, movie, television, and original design in both science fiction/fantasy and historical as well as many avenues of needle arts such as crocheting, knitting, embroidery, and beading. Each project is a work of love and has a unique story behind it. It is here she expounds those stories into tales and thoughts of her experiences in the crafts she loves.

2 responses »

  1. Glad to hear your kimono is going well! 🙂 Have you been able to finish it by now?

    Thanks for the update! I really enjoy hearing about your projects. 🙂 I completely understand about the busyness, though! Will the summer be a bit slower for you, or will it be chock-full as well?

    Reply
    • Thank you! It’s not finished yet. I had to put it on hold to finish a couple costumes for my friends before the next convention.

      The summer will be just as busy if not busier. I may not have much time for costuming either though I sincerely hope I can finish a project or two. I expecting to a slow down of costuming and blogging productivity.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

